What is zone defense in hockey?

The defensive zone is the area behind the blue line that contains the goal each team is defending. The hockey defensive zone is commonly referred to as the “D-zone.” It is vitally important for teams to have a strong defensive strategy to protect their defensive zone and goalie.

How do you play defense in field hockey?

TIPS TO BE A DEFENDER Keep the space between you and the attacker close. This will force them to make mistakes as it’s harder to pass. Then, choose your moment to steal the ball. Being organised is crucial when defending to ensure there are no vulnerable spots on the field.

What is zonal marking in field hockey?

By adopting zonal marking the defending team can; pass attackers from one defender to another as the attacker passes from one zone to the next, cover the space in which opposing players could pass the ball and mark an attacker as they move into an individual defenders area on the pitch.

Are there zones in field hockey?

Hockey 9 Zone: No Pressure Conditioned Games – Pitch split into 9 zones (3 x 3) – 6 players – Players should post between the different areas to move…

How can I improve my defense in hockey?

A good defenseman will:

  1. Maintain good defensive positioning (stay between the puck carrier and the net)
  2. Battle in the corners.
  3. Protect the front of the net.
  4. Initiate breakouts from defensive zone.
  5. Make clean crisp outlet passes.
  6. Be a great skater (especially backwards)
  7. Have a good shot from a distance.

What are the characteristics of zonal Defence?

The characteristics of position-oriented zonal marking are: clearly recognizable banks in defense and midfield, giving space to the opposition on the wings, and straight lines. However, the formation must not consist of equally wide chains or equal spacing between the various parts of the team.

How many defenders are there in field hockey?

four defenders
The 3-3-4 formation splits up the 10 field players into four defenders (Two fullbacks, Right Halfback and Left Halfback), three midfielders (Centre Midfielder, Left and Right Midfielders), and three strikers (Centre Forward, Right Wing and Left Wing).