What is LEED EBOM?

Currently, LEED for Existing Buildings: Operations and Maintenance, or LEED-EBOM, is the fastest growing LEED rating system. LEED-EBOM encourages property owners, managers, and operators to improve the sustainability of their existing building while taking into account daily operations.

Is BREEAM better than LEED?

LEED’s thresholds are based on percentages, while BREEAM uses quantitative standards. LEED is considered to be simpler in its approach, while BREEAM is more academic and rigorous.

What is LEED v3?

Launched on April 27, 2009, LEED v3 builds on the fundamental structure and familiarity of the existing rating system, but provides a new structure for making sure the rating system incorporates new technology and addresses the most urgent priorities like energy use and CO2 emissions.


BREEAM and LEED are the two big environmental certification systems used in the world today, although there are other systems, e.g. Energy Star in Australia and Sweden Green Building Council in Sweden.

What is the difference between LEED v4 and v4 1?

Unlike LEED Version 4, which completely updated the LEED rating system in 2014 compared to 2009 levels, LEED v4. 1 is not a full version change. Instead, it is the next evolution for the rating system, using the existing credit requirements as a foundation.

Is LEED Recognised in UK?

In the UK, interest in LEED is growing. The Green Building Certification Institute’s website records 66 LEED Accredited Professionals in the UK. This is the fifth highest national total behind the US, Canada, UAE and China. The US-GBC also lists ten UK buildings as being registered for one of the LEED schemes.

What are the disadvantages of BREEAM?

The two most common complaints are firstly that the privatisation of the BRE may have skewed it towards an unhelpful commercial standpoint. Secondly, and more importantly, some have complained that BREEAM can give far too much credit given to peripheral or even useless environmental aspects of building design.

What is the current LEED version?

LEED v4.1
1 is the next generation standard for green building design, construction, operations and performance. LEED helps buildings to focus on efficiency and leadership to deliver the triple bottom line returns of people, planet and profit. Today’s version of LEED, LEED v4.

What are the 9 LEED rating systems?

Nine Categories of LEED Credits:

  • Location & Transportation.
  • Sustainable Sites.
  • Water Efficiency.
  • Energy & Atmosphere.
  • Material & Resources.
  • Indoor Environmental Quality.
  • Innovation.
  • Regional Priority.