What is health hazard level 3?

The normal full protective clothing and breathing apparatus available to the average fire department will not provide adequate protection against inhalation or skin contact with these materials. Risk level 3: Materials extremely hazardous to health, but areas may be entered with extreme care.

What are the 3 hazard classes?

GHS consists of three major hazard groups : Physical hazards. Health hazards. Environmental hazards.

What is the flash point of a substance with an NFPA rating of 3?

Category 3 shall include liquids having flashpoints at or above 73.4 °F (23 °C) and at or below 140 °F (60 °C).

What does a health hazard rating of 2 mean?

2. MODERATE HAZARD This material is normally unstable and will readily undergo violent chemical change, but will not detonate. This material may react violently with water or may form potentially explosive mixtures with water.

What do NFPA numbers mean?

The National Fire Association (NFPA) has developed a color-coded number system called NFPA 704. The system uses a color-coded diamond with four quadrants in which numbers are used in the upper three quadrants to signal the degree of health hazard (blue), flammability hazard (red), and reactivity hazard (yellow).

What are the health hazard classes?

The health hazards group includes the following hazard classes:

  • Acute toxicity.
  • Aspiration hazard.
  • Biohazardous infectious materials.
  • Carcinogenicity.
  • Germ cell mutagenicity.
  • Reproductive toxicity.
  • Respiratory or skin sensitization.
  • Serious eye damage/eye irritation.

What is a Class III liquid?

Typical Class IIIA liquids include liquids such as creosote oil, formaldehyde, formic acid, and fuel oil #1. Class IIIB liquids are combustible liquids that have a flash point at or above 200 °F (93 °C). Typical Class IIIB liquids include liquids such as castor oil, coconut oil, fish oil, and olive oil.

What is a Category 1 health hazard?

The specific Health hazard criteria to be reviewed are: Acute toxicity (oral, Dermal and Inhalation), Categories 1-4. Skin corrosion / Irritation, Categories 1A, 1B, 1C, and 2. Serious eye damage / eye Irritation, Categories 1, 2A, and 2B. Respiratory or Skin Sensitization, Category 1A and 1B.

What are Category 1 and 2 hazards?

Hazards are divided into two categories. Those which score high on the scale (and therefore the greatest risk) are called Category 1 hazards. Those that fall lower down the scale and pose a lesser risk are called Category 2 hazards.