What is a Category 1 alarm?

Thatcham category 1 Thatcham devices designated as Category 1 refer to the most sophisticated security systems, combining an immobiliser with an alarm. Category 1 devices offer features like ignition and perimeter detection along with movement, tilt and glass break sensors.

What is a Category 2 alarm?

Thatcham Category 2 is an immobiliser-only category – alarms are not awarded this status. Just like Thatcham Category 1 systems, a Thatcham Category 2 device has to isolate at least two circuits or systems, or one vehicle control unit that’s required for the car to run properly. Again, it has to be passively set.

What are some different types of security systems that are put on vehicles?

Having a basic understanding of the different types of alarms should make it easier for you to determine which options are best for you.

  • Audible Alarm Systems.
  • Silent Alarm Systems.
  • Immobilizing Alarm Systems.
  • Passive and Active Alarm Systems.
  • GPS Car Tracking Systems.
  • Consider Getting More than One Option.

Is Honda hiss Thatcham approved?

Yamaha’s YISS (Yamaha Ignition Security System) is Thatcham approved, as is Honda’s HISS, Kawasaki’s KISS and Triumph’s Immobiliser System.

Are Ghost immobiliser Thatcham approved?

The Ghost is sealed and so small it can be installed and wrapped into the vehicle harness virtually anywhere making it virtually impossible for a thief to find. Please be aware this device is NOT Thatcham approved.

How do I know if my car has a Thatcham approved immobiliser?

You can rest assured that your car has a factory-fitted immobiliser if it was manufactured after October 1998. However, if your car was made before that date and you want to check if it has an immobiliser, the easiest way to check is to contact your car’s manufacturer or consult your owner’s manual.

What is the difference between Thatcham Category 5 and 6?

The Thatcham category 5 units come with the higher spec police rating meaning the vehicle has the chance of a faster recovery over a standard Thatcham Cat 6 unit. Thatcham Cat 6. The most common device in the UK. These devices are the normal everyday system that keeps your insurance company happy.

What is a Thatcham 2 1 alarm?

A 2>1 upgrade alarm is a car alarm that when fitted to a vehicle with an existing Thatcham Category 2 immobiliser upgrades the vehicles security to Category 1 status. This is an perfect option for UK cars built after 1998 that have a Cat 2 immobiliser as standard.

What is a level 4 alarm system?

The Autowatch 446 RLi is a level 4 insurance approved alarm system. It has an ultrasonic sensor, an immobiliser and a anti hijack facility. Categories: Autowatch car alarms, Car Alarms and Central Locking, Car alarms and security.

Do BMW motorcycles have immobilisers?

“Statistics show that BMW’s current factory-fitted immobilisers, available on all-but-one of our models, and optional alarm systems prove very effective. But the industry must do all it can to deter theft and also assist the police in prosecuting thieves once vehicles have been recovered.

What does hiss stand for Honda?

Honda Ignition Security System
Honda’s immobilizer is called H.I.S.S., which stands for Honda Ignition Security System.

What is Thatcham’s vehicle security category?

Thatcham is a product research company that defines the industry benchmark for vehicle security systems. Car security products that meet requirements are categorised depending on the product’s functions. The category system ensures that products are always fit for use on the roads.

Where can I find the products with Thatcham security certification?

All certified products are listed within Thatcham’s security certifications database and can be found using the search functions provided below. Thatcham Security Certification does not guarantee insurer recognition as this is negotiated individually by the product manufacturer and their insurer partners.

What are the different categories of Thatcham?

Thatcham Security Categories. 1 Thatcham Category 1. Thatcham Category 1 devices must have an electronic alarm and immobiliser. In the event that a thief gains access to your 2 Thatcham Category 2. 3 Thatcham Category 2/1. 4 Thatcham Category 3. 5 Thatcham Category 4.

What is Thatcham Research?

What is Thatcham Research? Established in 1969 as the Motor Insurance Repair Research Centre, Thatcham Research undertakes a wide range of automotive testing and certification work. This includes everything from crash testing to developing car repair methods, plus training new automotive apprentices.