What are the political affiliations of COSATU?

Government. COSATU is part of an alliance with the ANC and the South African Communist Party, called the Tripartite Alliance. COSATU’s role in the alliance has been the subject of debate, since the organisation has been critical of some of the ANC government’s policies.

Is COSATU The largest trade union?

The Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) is the largest of the three major trade union centres, with a membership of 1.8 million, and is part of the Tripartite alliance with the ruling African National Congress (ANC) and the South African Communist Party (SACP).

Who are the members of COSATU?

The rest of the top six positions, which were uncontested, were announced as follows:

  • President: Zingiswa Losi (POPCRU)
  • 1st Deputy President: Michael Shingange (NEHAWU)
  • 2nd Deputy President: Louisa Thipe (SACCAWU)
  • General Secretary: Bheki Ntshalintshali (CEPPAWU)
  • Deputy General Secretary: Solly Phetoe (SADTU)

Is COSATU a biggest trade union in South Africa?

Cosatu has a strong national and regional structure, and, with more than 1 million members, is the largest and strongest trade union federation in South Africa.

What are the main trade unions in South Africa?

Trade unions

  • Congress of South African Trade Unions (Cosatu)
  • Democratic Nursing Organisation of South Africa (DENOSA)
  • National Education, Health and Allied Workers Union (NEHAWU)
  • National Union of Metalworkers of South Africa (NUMSA)
  • National Union of Mineworkers (NUM)
  • Public Servants Association of South Africa (PSA)

How much does it cost to join COSATU?

By comparison, Cosatu charges an affiliation fee of R3. 95 a member, which amounted to R74 million last year. Apart from NTM, three other relatively tiny Saftu unions face suspension for non-payment, while many others are in arrears. In the report, Saftu claims there are five more unions that may join the federation.

What is the name of the biggest group of trade unions in South Africa?

The Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) is the first largest trade union federation with 21 affiliated trade unions in South Africa. COSATU was founded on the 30 November 1985 and officially launched on the 31 December 1985.

What are the 4 types of trade unions in South Africa?

Usually, the trade union regulates relations between employers and employees….What is a trade union?

  • Congress of South Africa Trade Unions (COSATU)
  • Federation of Unions of South Africa (FEDUSA)
  • National Council of Trade Unions.

How many unions does South Africa have?

There are 24 Trade Union Federations in South Africa.

What are the 3 types of unions?

It is easiest to differentiate among three distinct levels within the labor movement: local unions, national unions, and federations.