What are the 4 triage categories?


  • Immediate category. These casualties require immediate life-saving treatment.
  • Urgent category. These casualties require significant intervention as soon as possible.
  • Delayed category. These patients will require medical intervention, but not with any urgency.
  • Expectant category.

What are the 3 different types of triage codes *?

During MCI triage, the victims are generally classified in one of three categories based on their apparent need for medical treatment: immediate, delayed or minor.

What are the different types of triage systems?

Defined in this way, the most common types of triage include ED triage, inpatient (ICU) triage, incident (multicasualty) triage, military (battlefield) triage, and disaster (mass casualty) triage.

What is the order of triage?

Triage of patients involves looking for signs of serious illness or injury. These emergency signs are connected to the Airway – Breathing – Circulation/Consciousness – Dehydration and are easily remembered as ABCD.

What does Level 3 mean in the emergency room?

Level 3 – Urgent, not life-threatening (Example: patient has severe abdominal pain) Level 4 – Semi-urgent, not life-threatening (Example: patient with earache or minor cut requiring sutures) Level 5 – Non-urgent, needs treatment when time permits (Example: patient with minor symptoms or needing a prescription renewal)

What do the 4 colors or tags mean during triage?

RED: (Immediate) severe injuries but high potential for survival with treatment; taken to collection point first. YELLOW: (Delayed) serious injuries but not immediately life-threatening. GREEN: (Walking wounded) minor injuries.

What is a Level 5 ER visit?

Very sick patients often require level 5 work if they have a high complexity problem such as acute respiratory distress, depression with suicidal ideation, or any new life-threatening illness or severe exacerbation of an existing chronic illness.