How many seats are there in Pondicherry?

Puducherry Legislative Assembly
Chief Minister (Leader of House) N. Rangaswamy, AINRC since 07 May 2021
Leader of the Opposition R. Siva, DMK since 08 May 2021
Seats 33 (30 Elected + 3 Nominated)

Who is the MLA of Mahe?


Name Designation Address
RAMESH PARAMBATH Member of Legislative Assembly Yadhunandh”, X/410 D, Gramathy, Palloor, Mahe, P.O. Chockli – 670 672
Shivaraj Meena Regional Administrator Office of the Regional Administrator Government House ,Mahe

When did Puducherry get legislative assembly?

The Pondicherry Representative Assembly was converted into the Legislative Assembly on 1 July 1963 as per Section 54(3) of The Union Territories Act, 1963. All the 39 members who were elected by 1959 were deemed to have been elected to the First Assembly of Pondicherry (1 July 1963 – 24 August1964).

How many parliamentary constituencies are there in Puducherry?

Assembly segments The constituency presently comprises all the thirty segments of the Puducherry Legislative Assembly.

Who is chief minister of Puducherry?

N. RangaswamyPuducherry / Chief minister

Who is Governor of Pondicherry?

State Level

Name Address
Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan O/o The Lt. Governor, Puducherry – 605 001 Residence : +91-413-2334050

Is Pondicherry a state?

Puducherry is a union territory of India rather than a state, which implies that governance and administration fall directly under federal authority.

Who appoints Puducherry CM?

The lieutenant governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given that he has the confidence of the assembly, the chief minister’s term is for five years and is subject to no term limits. Since 1963, Puducherry has had 10 chief ministers.

How many Rajya Sabha seats are there in Puducherry?

1 Rajya Sabha members are elected to Rajya Sabha by Members of the Puducherry State Legislature.

Who is the governor of Puducherry?

Who is the first governor general of Puducherry?

François Martin (1634– octobre 1706) was the first Governor General of Pondicherry.