How many power sectors do we have in Nigeria?

Nigeria has twenty-three (23) power generating plants connected to the national grid with the capacity to generate 11,165.4 MW of electricity. These plants are managed by generation companies (GenCos), independent power providers, and Niger Delta Holding Company.

Which is the largest electricity distribution company in Nigeria?

Ikeja Electric Plc
Ikeja Electric Plc is the largest Nigerian power distribution company. It is based in Ikeja, capital of the state of Lagos.

What is the name of the power company in Nigeria?

The Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN), formerly the National Electric Power Authority (NEPA), is an organisation governing the use of electricity in Nigeria.

What are the power stations in Nigeria?

Natural gas

Power station Community Capacity
Alaoji Power Station (NIPP) Abia state 1074 MW [8]
Calabar Power Station (NIPP) Calabar 561 MW [12]
Egbema Power Station (NIPP) Imo State 338 MW [15]
Egbin Thermal Power Station (FGN but Privatized) Egbin 1320 MW (six 220-MW units)Egbin – Thermal Power Station in Egbin, Nigeria

Who owns egbin powerplant?

Sahara Power Group
After a series of negotiations and payment of $407.3 million, The Federal Government of Nigeria handed over Egbin Thermal Power Plant to the core investor, a joint venture between Sahara Power Group and KEPCO, on 1 November 2013.

Who is the owner of Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company?

Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company

Type Private
Area served Rivers, Bayelsa, Cross River and Akwa Ibom
Key people Chairman: Ransome Owan MD/CEO: Dr. Henry Ajagbawa
Services Electricity distribution

Who is the owner of Eko electricity distribution company?

Charles Momoh
Charles Momoh is the founder of West Power & Gas Limited (WPG) as well as the Chairman of Eko Electricity Distribution Plc, a subsidiary for WPG.

How many electricity generation companies are in Nigeria?

The government unbundled PHCN into eleven electricity distribution companies (DisCos), six generating companies (GenCos), and a transmission company (TCN).

Who is the CEO and MD of PHED?

Who are the major distributors of power in Nigeria?

Ikeja Electric is one of the major distributors of power in Nigeria. It gives electricity to more than 700,000 customers. This distribution company covers Delta, Edo, Ondo and Ekiti states. The coverage area of the company is about 55,770 square kilometers. The company provides its services from twenty-five business districts across the country.

Who is the first independent power company in Nigeria?

Ibom Power is one of the first Independent Power Companies in Nigeria and registered/active participant of the Nigerian Electricity Supply Industry (NESI). It was incorporated in the year 2001.

Who owns Nigeria’s grid-connected power plants?

Among the power generation companies managing the 23 grid-connected power plants are successor companies of the privatised power plants, Independent Power Producers (IPP), and Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC). Successor companies of Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN) dominate the grid-connected power generation companies.

Who is the CEO of the Electricity Company of Nigeria?

This company covers the electricity of states, like Kaduna, Zamfara, Sokoto, and Kebbi. This company is one of the downstream operators. The company’s customer population is around 490,000. It’s considered to be the seventh largest distribution company in the country. It currently has eight offices. The CEO of the company is Garba Haruna.