How does eye of the storm work MTG?

When a player casts an instant or sorcery card, the Eye will trigger. When that trigger resolves, the spell that triggered it is exiled, then Eye of the Storm will make a copy of every instant or sorcery exiled by it (including the one that it just exiled).

What does storm mean in MTG?

502.30a Storm is a triggered ability that functions while the card is on the stack. “Storm” means “When you play this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was played before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies.”

How does thousand year storm work MTG?

Thousand-Year Storm’s ability will copy any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets. Copies are created even if the spell that caused Thousand-Year Storm’s ability to trigger has been countered by the time that ability resolves. The copies resolve before the original spell.

Does Storm include copies MTG?

The storm ability only counts spells that are cast. It does not count when copies of spells are put on the stack.

Does eye of the storm stack?

The spells aren’t cast “simultaneously”, but they are all cast as part of the resolution of that part of the ability. So, yes, you do get to choose the order you cast them in, and you can stack them so that the Storm card is cast last.

How does warp world resolve?

Taking it slowly, here’s what happens when Warp World resolves: 1) Each player counts the number of permanents they own. 2) Each player shuffles those permanents into their library. 3) Each player reveals cards from the top of their library equal to the number that player counted.

Why is storm so powerful MTG?

What makes storm so powerful is that each copy of the spell then needs to be countered individually if you don’t want the effect to happen. Even if the original spell with storm gets countered, storm triggers when the spell is cast, so all the other copies will still go on the stack.

Does a card with storm count itself?

Rulings. The storm copies are put directly onto the stack—they aren’t cast. That means the copies don’t generate storm copies themselves, and they aren’t counted by other storm spells cast later during the turn.

Does Thousand-Year Storm copy your first spell?

Once you have Thousand-Year Storm in play, whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, that spell is copied for each other instant or sorcery spell you’ve cast before it that turn.

What happens if I copy Grapeshot?

The choice is made at resolution, in fact the copied breaking point will go off before the original. Neither, first the copy of grapeshot will resolve first, and will only do 1 point of damage. The spell grapeshot only does 1 point of damage, the storm effect just makes copies of the spell.

What if I copy a spell with storm?

Storm is a casting trigger, so it only triggers during that zone transition. Copying a spell with storm, which is what the storm ability actually does to itself, will not trigger the ability. It can’t be allowed to, really, else storm would spiral off into infinity and break the game.