Who occupies the Occupied Territories?

The Israeli-occupied territories are the territories occupied by Israel during the Six-Day War of 1967. It also sometimes refers to areas of Southern Lebanon where Israeli military was present during and after the Lebanese Civil War.

What are the 3 Occupied Territories?

The Occupied Territories are the West Bank, East Jerusalem, the Gaza Strip, and the Golan Heights. “Occupied Palestinian Territories” or simply “Palestinian territories” is sometimes used to refer to the West Bank, East Jerusalem and the Gaza Strip, excluding the (Syrian) Golan Heights.

What does the term Occupied Territories mean?

In international law, a territory is considered “occupied” when it is actually placed under the authority of the hostile army. The definition of occupation and the obligations of the occupying power were initially codified at the end of the nineteenth century.

What are the 2 main occupied Palestinian territories?

Occupied by Israel since June 1967, the West Bank – including East Jerusalem- and the Gaza Strip have come to constitute the occupied Palestinian territory (OPT).

Is Gaza occupied territory?

Although the United Nations still maintains that Gaza is occupied, under both the literal and interpreted applications of the definition of occupation— characterized by what is termed “effective control”—Gaza is not occupied territory pursuant to the standards set forth in international law and doctrine.

Why does Israel claim the West Bank?

Israel has cited several reasons for retaining the West Bank within its ambit: a claim based on the notion of historic rights to this as a homeland as affirmed in the Balfour Declaration of 1917; security grounds, both internal and external; and the deep symbolic value for Jews of the area occupied.

Is Jerusalem occupied territory?

The Occupied Territories, which include the West Bank, East Jerusalem, and the Gaza Strip, are subject to the jurisdiction of Israel and the Palestinian Authority (PA), with the division of responsibilities overlapping in much of the territory.

Is Israel occupying Gaza?

Israel maintains direct external control over Gaza and indirect control over life within Gaza: it controls Gaza’s air and maritime space, as well as six of Gaza’s seven land crossings. It reserves the right to enter Gaza at will with its military and maintains a no-go buffer zone within the Gaza territory.

Is Israel occupying Palestine land?

Palestinian territory – encompassing the Gaza Strip and West Bank, including East Jerusalem – has been illegally occupied by Israel since 1967.

Is Gaza an occupied territory?

How much of the West Bank is occupied by Israel?

The areas earmarked for annexation (the precise contours of which are being mapped by Israel and the US) may comprise about 30% of the West Bank, according to reports. Mr Netanyahu may initially act to annex just the settlements, which could amount to only 3% of the West Bank.