Where is Balearic Islands located?

western Mediterranean Sea
The Balearic Island archipelago is located in the western Mediterranean Sea off Spain’s eastern coast. The archipelago consists of three major islands (Majorca, Minorca, and Ibiza) with other small islands such as Cabrera and Formentera.

Where is Mallorca location?

Mallorca, or Majorca, is the largest island in the Balearic Islands, which are part of Spain and located in the Mediterranean. The capital of the island, Palma, is also the capital of the autonomous community of the Balearic Islands. The Balearic Islands have been an autonomous region of Spain since 1983.

Are the Balearics part of Catalonia?

Catalan Countries

Catalan Countries Països Catalans
Northern Catalonia Catalonia Alghero La Franja Valencia Balearic Islands Carche Italy Spain France Mediterranean Sea Balearic Sea Andorra (Catalan-speaking areas in dark grey) The Catalan Countries comprise the following regions:
State Region

What is largest island in the Balearics?

Balearic Islands

  • Mallorca is the largest of the islands, with probably the most varied landscape of any European island – ranging from flat fertile plains to the mountainous peaks of the Serra de Tramuntana, to the 262 beaches.
  • Menorca is smaller than its neighbour and the furthest of the Balearic Islands from Spain.

How do you get to the Balearic Islands?

You can catch a ferry from Barcelona, Dénia and Valencia in mainland Spain to the 4 major islands of the Balearic archipelago throughout the year. You can also fly to the islands of Menorca, Mallorca and Ibiza from many European cities.

What language is spoken in Mallorca?

People in Mallorca speak Spanish (also referred to as ‘Castilian’ or ‘Castellano’, a variety of the Spanish language spoken in central Spain) and Mallorquí, a language with the same root as Catalán which can change slightly depending on the location.