What was Reggie Shaw charged with in the video?
Shaw guilty of negligent homicide, a misdemeanor, they would need to show he knew of the dangers or should have known of the dangers of texting while driving.
What is the Reggie Shaw story?
A Deadly Wandering: A Mystery, a Landmark Investigation, and the Astonishing Science of Attention in the Digital Age is a 2014 book by Matt Richtel. It details the story of Reggie Shaw, a Mormon teenager who killed two scientists in Utah in 2006 while he was texting and driving.
What are the two biggest causes of distracted driving in Utah?
The two worst distractions for Utah drivers: Cellphones. Whether you are dialing a number, texting, using social media or using a map app, it is illegal to manipulate your phone in any sort of way while the vehicle is in motion. Crashes involving drivers on cell phones have increased for six straight years.
What is the fine for texting and driving in Utah?
According to Utah’s laws, anyone who is caught texting while driving could possibly face up to three months in jail, as well as a fine of as much as $750 fine, as well as a misdemeanor on their record.
Did Reggie Shaw go to jail?
Shaw went to jail for 30 days, and did community service. He also spoke to Utah lawmakers, to get them to pass one of the toughest laws against texting and driving in the country.
What was Debbie doing when she got hit by the driver?
DEBBIE DREWNIAK, WHO WAS HIT BY A TEEN DRIVER THAT WAS TEXTING IN 2011, WILL BE SPEAKING. THE TEXT PREVENTION PROGRAM IS AN OPPURTUNITY FOR YOUNG DRIVERS TO LEARN THEIR ACTIONS HAVE CONSEQUENCES. DEBBIE WAS CHECKING HER MAIL WHEN THE DRIVER HIT HER AND HER DOG. DOCTORS THOUGHT SHE WOULD NEVER WALK AGAIN.
Is eating while driving illegal in Utah?
So, what happens if a police officer in Utah sees you eating a cheeseburger while driving down the highway? In most cases, nothing. There’s no law that specifically says you can’t eat while driving in this state.
Is it illegal to drive with headphones on in Utah?
There is no prohibition on headsets in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Deleware, Washington D.C., Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota.
Can you eat while driving in Utah?
Yes. In most cases, nothing. There’s no law that specifically says you can’t eat while driving in this state.
Is it illegal to drive with headphones in Utah?
How much time did Reggie Shaw get?
Our coverage relies on your financial support. If you value articles like the one you’re reading right now, give today. Shaw went to jail for 30 days, and did community service. He also spoke to Utah lawmakers, to get them to pass one of the toughest laws against texting and driving in the country.
What can Xavier’s mom no longer say to him quizlet?
Xzavier was a lively and exuberant young man who didn’t stop running from the time that his feet hit the floor in the morning. His mother can no longer say to him, “Go out in the yard and play.”