What is Hasya Rasa?

Hāsya (Sanskrit: हास्य) is a Sanskrit word for one of the nine rasas or bhava (mood) of Indian aesthetics, usually translated as humour or comedy. The colour associated with hasya is white and deity, Pramatha, and leads to exultation of the mind.

What is the meaning of the word hasya in navarasa?

Navarasa means nine emotions; rasa means emotional state of mind. Nine emotions are Shringara (love/beauty), Hasya (laughter), Karuna(sorrow), Raudra (anger), Veera (heroism/courage), Bhayanaka (terror/fear), Bibhatsa (disgust), Adbutha (surprise/wonder), Shantha (peace or tranquility).

What is rasa What are the eight Rasas according to the Natya Shastra?

According to Bharata’s Natyashastra there is eight fundamental feeling or mental states referred to as Sthayibhavas which can be experienced by human beings. These are Delight (Riti) laughter (Hasya), Sorrow (Shoka), Anger (Krodha), Heroism (Utsaha), Fear (Bhaya), Disgust (Jugupsa), and Wonder (Vismaya).

What is Bibhatsa rasa?

The Odious (Bibhatsa) Rasa has the dominant state of disgust. It is derived from determinants such as hearing of unpleasant, offensive, impure, harmful things or seeing and discussing them.

What is Adbhuta rasa?

The awe that one feels when one comes across something divine and supernatural, some power or beauty that is remarkable and never seen or imagined before is adbhuta. It is the curiosity of man, the astonishment caused by seeing something unusual and magical.

What is Bhayanaka rasa?

Bhayanaka is the feeling of panic and dread brought on by the anticipation of danger. It denotes a weakness of heart and a want of strength in character. Fear is the base emotion of the Bhayanaka rasa. To portray Bhayanaka, the actor widens his pupils and pushes them forcefully outwards.

What is Karuna rasa?

One of the Navarasas. This rasa is the manifestation of sorrow, pain, sadness and bitterness that the character experiences as a result of the departure of or parting from loved ones, death, thwarting of desires or an undesirable event.

Who introduced Shanta rasa?

The inclusion of this rasa as a prominent one in Sanskrit poetry and dramaturgy is attributed to Udbhata, a president in the court of king Jayapida of Kashmir during 779-813 AD and a contemporary of Vamana.

What is rasa and types of rasa?

The principal human feelings, according to Bharata, are delight, laughter, sorrow, anger, energy, fear, disgust, heroism, and astonishment, all of which may be recast in contemplative form as the various rasas: erotic, comic, pathetic, furious, heroic, terrible, odious, marvelous, and quietistic.

What is the Colour of Shanta rasa?

The Aura of a frightened person is black, and the aura of an angry person is red. The nine colors that signifies each emotions are Green (Shringara), White (Hasya), Grey (Karuna), Red (Roudra), Orange (Veera), Black (Bhayanaka), Blue (Bheebhatsya), Yellow (Adbutha) and White (Shantha).

What are the nine rasas mentioned in Natya Shastra?

They are sringaram (love, attractiveness), hasyam (comedy, laughter and mirth), karunam (compassion, mercy), bibhatsam (disgust, aversion), bhayanakam (horror, terror), veeram (heroic mood), adbhutham (wonder, amazement).

What is theory of rasa?

Rasa Theory asserts that entertainment (in the drama/performance) is expected to evoke Rasa or joy (artistic) but that is not the primary goal. The primary goal is instead to create parallel life in front of the audience to experience a sense of one’s own (i.e. Consciousness, spiritual and moral question).