What is a scale tones in music?

A scale is the tonal basis of music. It is a set of tones from which you can build melodies and harmonies. The tones of a scale are ordered according to their pitch. Since scales create various distinctive moods, atmospheres and tonal flavors, there are as many scales as there are cultures around the world.

What are the tones in a major scale?

The scale degrees are:

  • 1st: Tonic.
  • 2nd: Supertonic.
  • 3rd: Mediant.
  • 4th: Subdominant.
  • 5th: Dominant.
  • 6th: Submediant.
  • 7th: Leading tone.
  • 8th: Tonic.

What are the notes in the scale of a?

In this lesson we will take a look at the A major scale. First of all, the notes of this scale are A – B – C# – D – E – F# – G# – A. The note, A repeats one octave higher. Its key signature has three sharps.

How many tones are there in a scale?

Scales may also be identified by using a binary system of twelve zeros or ones to represent each of the twelve notes of a chromatic scale. It is assumed that the scale is tuned using 12-tone equal temperament (so that, for instance, C♯ is the same as D♭), and that the tonic is in the leftmost position.

How do you identify a scale?


  1. Identify which major scale the key represents (look for the last sharp, or last flat).
  2. Locate the relative minor scale (count down a minor 3rd).
  3. Look at the start and end chordsto determine whether the music is major or minor.

What are the 8 notes of the A major scale?

1. A major scale

Note no. Degree name
5 E is the dominant of the A major scale
6 F# is the submediant of the A major scale
7 G# is the leading tone of the A major scale
8 A is the octave of the A major scale

Why are there 7 notes in a scale?

As to why we use a 7 note scale, that is just what happens when you start at a note and move up the scale with the rules: Increase by a whole step by default; Increase by a half step when necessary to make sure that the perfect fourth, fifth, and octave are included.