What are the different types of OS maps?

Map Selector

  • OS Explorer. Best for walking, running, and hiking.
  • OS Landranger. Perfect for cycling and longer routes.
  • OS Tour. Perfect for discovering popular local tourist spots and landmarks.
  • OS Road.
  • OS Urban.
  • Themed maps.
  • OS Historical maps.
  • OS Short Walks guidebooks.

What do Ordnance Survey maps show?

Ordnance Survey maps They give a clear depiction of the physical landscape, detailing a range of geographical features, landmarks, field boundaries, valley contours, summit heights, rivers, roads, railways, villages and towns.

How do I read an Ordnance Survey map?

Every OS map has a grid, which is shown using faint blue lines. The lines across the bottom of the map are called eastings as they travel towards the east. The lines up the side of the map are called northings as they travel towards the north.

What are the two types of OS maps?

Select the correct map for your walk: You have two main choices of paper map – the Ordnance Survey (OS) Explorer or the Ordnance (OS) Landranger.

How many OS Maps are there?

Ordnance Survey Maps 1:25000. Ordnance Survey (OS) produce many maps but the best known are the 1:50000 and 1:25000 scale maps.

What is a key or legend?

Definition: A key or legend is a list of symbols that appear on the map. For example, a church on the map may appear as a cross, a cross attached to a circle, a cross attached to a square. A church symbol with a square means that the church has a tower, while a circle means the church has a spire.

What OS map means?

Ordnance Survey map
An Ordnance Survey map is a detailed map produced by the British or Irish government map-making organization.

What do numbers mean on a map?

Standard topographic maps are numbered using a system developed for the International Map of the World. Map areas at 1:1 million scale are identified by a two letter combination which identifies the hemisphere and a four degree band of latitude and a two digit number which identifies a six degree band of longitude.

What are the 4 steps of reading a map?

How To Read A Map

  1. Step 1 – Choose The Correct Type Of Map.
  2. Step 2 – Understand The Features Of The Map.
  3. Step 3 – Put The Map Into Practice.
  4. Step 1 – Choose The Correct Type Of Map. There are different types of maps to choose from.
  5. Step 2 – Understand The Features Of The Map.
  6. Step 3 – Put The Map Into Practice.

How many OS maps are there?

Why do OS maps have grid squares?

A grid of squares helps the map-reader to locate a place. The vertical lines are called eastings. They are numbered – the numbers increase to the east. The horizontal lines are called northings as the numbers increase in an northerly direction.

What is a symbol in a map?

A symbol is an abstraction or pictorial representation of something else. Symbols on a map consist of discrete points, lines, or shaded areas; they have size, form, and (usually) color. Map symbols present information collectively, leading to appreciation of form, relative position, distribution, and structure.