What are the Coast Guard ratings?

Enlisted Coast Guard rates are broken down into three levels: non-rates — members without a designated occupation (E-1 through E-3), petty officers (E-4 through E-6) and chief petty officers (E-7 through E-9).

How long does it take to make rank in the Coast Guard?

Therefore, you might consider entering the Coast Guard through the Officer Candidate School (OCS), which is a 17-week course. After you graduate, you will receive a rank as an O-1, and you can expect to serve at least three years.

How long does it take to become an E-4 in the Coast Guard?

about 36 months
The Navy and Coast Guard vary from the other branches when it comes to E-4 promotions. Both are based on vacancies within the member’s given career field, with an average of about 36 months of active duty.

What is a mk1 in the Coast Guard?

Machinery Technician (MK) is an enlisted rating in the United States Coast Guard that is responsible for the operation, maintenance and repair of a cutter’s propulsion, auxiliary equipment and outside equipment, internal combustion engines (gasoline, diesel, gas turbines), environmental support systems (heating.

Is the U.S. Coast Guard a military?

As one of the five Armed Services of the United States, the Coast Guard is the only military branch within the Department of Homeland Security.

What rank will I be in the Coast Guard with a bachelor’s degree?

When you graduate from the program, you’ll receive a commission in the Coast Guard at the rank of ensign (O-1), and will be required to serve a minimum of three years on active-duty. You may be assigned to a ship, flight training, a staff job, or to an operations billet ashore.

What are Coast Guard enlisted called?

An enlisted member enters the Coast Guard as a Seaman Recruit. After completing basic training, the enlisted recuits advances to Seaman. The next two notable advancements are the advancement to a Petty Officer and then to a Chief Petty Officer.

What rank do you start out in the Coast Guard with a college degree?

What rank is mk3?

Lieutenant (LT/O-3)

Are Coast Guard considered veterans?

A veteran is a former member of the Armed Forces of the United States (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard) who served on active duty and was discharged under conditions, which were other than dishonorable.