What are the 5 degrees of OES?

In the Order of the Eastern Star there are only five degrees, known as Adah, the daughter; Ruth, the widow; Esther, the wife; Martha, the sister; and Electa, the mother. The name of the Order, the names of its degrees, and modes of recognition are unchangeable.

What is the Order of the Eastern Star dedicated to?

Eastern Star strives to build an environment for our members and our Order which is truly dedicated to Charity, Truth and Loving Kindness by uplifting each other and through service in our communities. The Order of the Eastern Star was founded by Dr. Rob Morris in the late 1800’s.

What degree is Ruth in OES?

the widow degree
ADAH – the daughter degree, illustrating integrity filial devotion and respect to the binding force of a vow. RUTH – the widow degree, illustrating industry, loyalty and devotion to religious principles.

What is the Eastern Star initiation?

The Master Mason must have been in good standing at the time of his death. Initiation requires a letter of verification from his Lodge before conferring the Degrees of the Order of The Eastern Star.

How do you become a member of the Order of the Eastern Star?

The Order of the Eastern Star is open to both men and women. As in Masonry, prospective members submit a petition to the Eastern Star chapter they wish to join. Male petitioners must be Masons who are in good standing with their lodge. Females must be 18 years of age or older, and related to Masons in good standing.

What Star point is Esther?

3 Esther, the White Point The white point of the star symbolizes purity and joy, as exemplified by Esther. Esther is a Jewish woman selected by the ruler of a Persian empire to become his queen. She does not reveal her religion to the king.

How long is Eastern Star initiation?

Dr. Rob Morris, the poet laureate of Masonry, formed the Order of the Eastern Star in 1850. How long after the election will that be? The initiation ceremony will be scheduled between one week after election to receive the degrees but not later than sixty (60) days.