What are the 14 categories of disabilities under IDEA?

The majority of IDEA appropriations are allocated to states by formula to carry out activities under Part B, which covers 14 disability categories: (1) autism, (2) deaf-blindness, (3) deafness, (4) emotional disturbance, (5) hearing impairment, (6) intellectual disability, (7) multiple disabilities, (8) orthopedic …

What were the main provisions changed through IDEA 2004 regarding Ieps?

IDEA 2004 included a new provision requiring the special education and related services, supplemental aids and services outlined on a student’s IEP need to be based on “peer-reviewed research” to the “extent practicable.”

What are the categories under IDEA?

The definitions are as follows:

  • Autism.
  • Deaf-Blindness.
  • Deafness.
  • Emotional Disturbance.
  • Hearing Impairment.
  • Intellectual Disabilities.
  • Multiple Disabilities.
  • Orthopedic Impairment.

Why is the 13 disability categories matter when planning reading interventions?

Knowing the particular disability that qualifies a student for special education (as well as the reasons for identifying the student with that disability) makes it more likely that educators can develop an appropriate individualized education program (IEP).

What is the IDEA of 2004?

It can be referred to as either IDEA 2004 or IDEA. IDEA gives states federal funds to help make special education services available for students with disabilities. It also provides very specific requirements to ensure a free appropriate public education (FAPE) for students with disabilities.

What are the two main purposes of IDEA 2004?

to ensure that the rights of children with disabilities and their parents are protected; to help States, localities, educational service agencies, and Federal agencies provide for the education of all children with disabilities; and.

What are the 8 categories of disability?

1 – Mobility and Physical Impairments.

  • 2 – Spinal Cord Disability.
  • 3 – Head Injuries – Brain Disability.
  • 4 – Vision Disability.
  • 5 – Hearing Disability.
  • 6 – Cognitive or Learning Disabilities.
  • 7 – Psychological Disorders.
  • 8 – Invisible Disabilities.
  • What are the seven 7 categories of disabilities?

    Different types of disabilities

    • vision Impairment.
    • deaf or hard of hearing.
    • mental health conditions.
    • intellectual disability.
    • acquired brain injury.
    • autism spectrum disorder.
    • physical disability.

    How do you categorize disabilities?

    1. 1 – Mobility and Physical Impairments.
    2. 2 – Spinal Cord Disability.
    3. 3 – Head Injuries – Brain Disability.
    4. 4 – Vision Disability.
    5. 5 – Hearing Disability.
    6. 6 – Cognitive or Learning Disabilities.
    7. 7 – Psychological Disorders.
    8. 8 – Invisible Disabilities.

    What does IDEA 2004 mean for my child’s IEP?

    As noted above, IDEA 2004 adds a new requirement that the IEP must take into consideration the “academic, developmental and functional needs” of your child.

    What are the 13 categories of disability under idea law?

    13 Categories of Disability Under IDEA Law. 1 Autism Spectrum Disorder. 2 Deaf-Blindness. 3 Deafness. 4 Emotional Disturbance. 5 Hearing Impairment. 6 Intellectual Disability. 7 Multiple Disabilities. 8 Orthopedic Impairment. 9 Other Health Impairment. 10 Specific Learning Disability.

    What are the IDEA 2004 regulations for determining learning disabilities?

    IDEA 2004 federal regulations instruct every state to develop criteria to be used throughout the state for determining whether a student has a specific learning disability. While much of the detail of such criteria is left up to each individual state, the criteria:

    Does IDEA 2004 require justification for removing students with learning disabilities?

    This provision is unchanged in IDEA 2004 and continues to require a justification for any decision to remove a child from the general education classroom. Students with learning disabilities must have access to the general education curriculum regardless of the instructional setting, i.e., resource room, self-contained classroom.