Is a stet docket a conviction in Maryland?

It’s important to understand that a stet is not a conviction. It’s an indefinite postponement of a criminal case for up to 3 years. A stet can be expunged after three years if (1) the case is not reopened and (2) the defendant is not convicted of a crime during that time period.

What does a stet docket mean in Maryland?

The stet docket, literally the “let it stand docket,” simply means that a case has been stetted, or listed as inactive by the court. There is no actual docket on which the cases are listed. In fact, a stetted case is not listed on any docket.

What does Stet mean on a background check?

Stet is a Latin term that means “let it stand.” According to the Baltimore County state’s attorney office, a “stet” is an indefinite postponement. A guilty verdict is not entered, but a “stet” is not an acquittal or dismissal. The charges remain; but, they are not active in the system.

What does it mean to stet a case?

A stet is an indefinite postponement of a trial in a criminal case. On motion by the state’s attorney, the court may order a case marked stet. If a stet is entered, it means the state will not pursue the criminal charges at that time.

How do you get a stet expunged in Maryland?

Under Criminal Procedure § 10-105 the waiting period to expunge the charge(s) that has been marked “stet” is three (3) years after the case was marked “stet” on the docket. If it has been less than three (3) years, you may file a motion for a good cause exception.

What does probation before Judgement mean in Maryland?

Under Maryland law, probation before judgment (PBJ) refers to a defendant being placed on probation before a judgment has been entered in their case. This means that the individual has not been found guilty of the crime with which they have been charged.

What does stat mean in court?

It means “status”, but for general purposes, it means the case is not scheduled to be disposed of at the setting listed. That will occur if the case is scheduled for “trial” or “plea” (assuming you are looking at the Dallas County Court Website). More.

Can DUI be expunged in Maryland?

Though the record can never be officially expunged, the good thing is that DUI or DWI convictions may be eligible for probation before judgment if the second offense occurred 10 or more years after the original drunk driving conviction.

How much does expungement cost in Maryland?

There is no charge to expunge a case with a disposition of acquittal, dismissal, probation before judgment (PBJ), nolle prosequi, stet, or not criminally responsible. Form CC-DC-CR-072B. The filing fee is $30 for eligible guilty dispositions and is nonrefundable, even if denied.

How long does probation before Judgement last in Maryland?

If you receive a PBJ from a District Court Judge, probation can last for a maximum of 3 years. A probation before judgment from a Circuit Court Judge can last up to 5 years. If you want to read the full text of the PBJ rules, check out Maryland Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 6-220.

What happens when you get a DUI in Maryland?

For a first offense, you face up to a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail. Twelve (12) points will be assessed on your driving record and your license may be revoked for up to six (6) months. For a second offense, you face a $2,000 fine and up to two years imprisonment (with a mandatory minimum of five days).

What does stat mean in a citation?

Cite to session laws if the official or unofficial code is unavailable or insufficient. The official compilation of federal session laws is the Statutes at Large, abbreviated “Stat.”